Magic

image

He asked me to teach him magic
So I taught him to observe
nature, the universe,
meditation, 
and from these he did learn.

He asked me to teach him magic
So I advised him to learn
the motion of heavenly bodies,
and how the world does turn.

He asked me to teach him magic
So I showed him how to pray,
to use faith, 
be mindful of words,
in what we do or say.

He asked me to teach him magic
So I asked him to count
seconds, minutes,
days, weeks and hours,
to compare all these amounts.

He asked me to teach him magic,
So I asked him to observe the seasons,
weather, the earth, 
plants and creatures,
and why? 
So he might find out a reason.

He asked me to teach him magic,
I said, “Meditate upon these things.”
He went away 
then came back again,
To tell me of his dreams.

He asked me to teach him magic,
So I told him to first seek peace,
be mindful and carry the light,
all the time
So anxiety would cease.

He asked me to teach him magic,
Yet I had taught him all these things:
peace, love, compassion,
nature, 
meditation and how reality really seems.

He asked me to teach him magic,
So I showed him sleight of hand,
hypnosis on people and self,
illusion, 
how to do tricks on demand.

He asked me to teach him magic,
So he could control the will of others,
rule,
boast of power,
over those known as sisters and brothers.
And this I did not teach him,
For magic never belongs to man,
If he thinks that he owns it,
Magic has it’s own plan.

He said he had gained the magic,
He became very underhand,
boasting of victory
and power,
Yet little did he understand.

The magic that he sought,
Coveted with all his might,
eluded him,
escaped him,
for he would use it for darkness, not for light.

The magic that he sought,
Took his life today,
for he was unjust
and jealous;
the lust drew him to the grave.

The magic that he sought,
Was faith,
a power so great and true,
the power of the universe,
working together,
with me and you. 

Sougen 

Leave a Reply

