Soul.


I remember when I was a sun

far out in a distant heaven

having no hands with which to feel,

no eyes to see through,

no ears to hear,

no nose to smell,

no tongue to taste,

And in this state of being,

I began to understand

who I am.
I remember when I was a rock

on the misty moor,

feeling the weather about me.

Having no eyes to see,

no ear to hear,

no tongue to taste,

no nose to smell.

I had time to feel

the trickle of water 

wash me away.

I became part of the land

water in the root

and in this state of being,

I began to understand

who I am.
I remember when I was a plant

searching for the light,

feeling the earth around me

I reached out 

and found a sense of presence,

felt an old friend 

opening my leaves and 

I began to breathe.

In this state of being,

I began to understand

who I am.
I remember when I was a human,

drowned in sensory overload.

I witnessed attitudes,

views, opinions,

actions of mind & limb

in a confusion of ideas,

tried to make sense of it all;

a sense of place, 

a sense of space

and I was given time

to understand who I am

in this state of being.
Some distant memory disturbed

a part of my reality,

discerned in the quickening of my eye

light passed between us

with no regard of time

allowing me to observe its passing

in one state of being

yet when I turned to look away,

it was on the wave of the horizon.

It was a familiar face and

I looked back to try and see it,

but it slipped the guise of time

And observing those states of being,

I asked, “Who am I?”
Encoded memories

conscious photos in photons

share the rich heritage,

communicating faster than light,

distance was no hurdle

nor gravity’s dense delight.

Sharing a common message

all about the cosmos.

Then I saw the distant star

dying in the night

which tugged a silver thread

on the universe’s neural net,

This was no new incarnation

for I could discern

parts of me were inherited

from when I was a sun;

the land on which I stood,

were in fact my lungs;

the flower’s seeds 

behold my mother’s eyes,

genes holding in the memory

and fathering many lives.
Part of me is part of thee 

and also part of you,

linked via atomic dendrites

cosmologically sublime.

As I stand and look upon

the ancient darkest night

I see the creator’s hand,

a trick of the light. 

My unique consciousness

conscious of the light

responds by hiding my soul

as a particle when granted insight

and as wave when out of sight. 

Each individual spirit,

shares the same sun-drenched pool

each and every memory shared

makes family of us all. 
I remember when I was a human

gazing the distant heavens

having hands with which to feel,

eyes to see through,

ears to hear,

nose to smell,

tongue to taste,

in a state of being,

I began to understand

who I am, 

when looking back through time.
My soul within each cell,

in each element,

And now that it all makes sense

my consciousness becomes content.
Sougen.

Leave a Reply

